LAS Academic Scholarship Winners - AY 2020-2021


2021 LAS Awards

Description of Award

Description of Award:    The College of Letters, Arts & Sciences’ Committee on Academic Progress (CAP) has selected five winners to receive an award of $1,250 each for their outstanding essays to the quote by George  Washington Carver, “Resolve to be tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving, and tolerant of the weak and the wrong. Sometime in life you will have been all of these.“ 

Brianna Beassie
Academic Scholarship
Elizabeth Canright
Academic Scholarship
Jaqueline Leindecker
Academic Scholarship Winner
Summer Wilson
Evan J. Scott Endowed Scholarship
The Evan J. Scott Endowed English Scholarship fund provides scholarship awards to students who are enrolled in the College of Letters, Arts and Sciences who are majoring in English with a focus in a literature or secondary education track. To qualify students must be sophomore level or higher, and demonstrate they have an Expected Family Contribution below 250% of Pell Grant eligibility by submitting the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) by March 1st. Preference will be given to students who come from Colorado Springs School District 11, Fountain-Fort Carson District 8, Wideflield Should read Widefield! School District, or Harrison School District 2. Students are encouraged to reapply for this award each year.
Vanessa Banks
Patricia Ann Gray Scholarship
The Patricia Ann Gray Scholarship is a need based award for continuing students at UCCS who have completed at least nine (9) credits of 2000-level or above English and have a 3.0 Cumulative GPA in those courses. Ideal applicants are older than the traditional student returning to college after a change in their life circumstances. As many as two students will receive awards ranging from $300-$1,400. Students must submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid before March 1st to be considered for the award.